The one where I’m 39 weeks

I wanted to find a GIF of Rachel saying “My due date is in one week!” but I can’t for the life of me find one.  So everyone go watch Season 8, Episode 21, The one with the cooking class.  It’s the scene right after the opening credits.

Now that that’s out of the way.  I’m freaking out.  My due date is in one week!  That is seven days!  (See what I did there?  If you’re a friends fan you do).  I’m just really anxious for her to come.  I’m not looking forward to the pain per se, but I am really focusing on not letting the thought of it scare me.  I’m just focusing on the fact that it’ll only be a short time of that and then she’ll be here.  I feel like being scared of the pain can end up being a self-fulfilling prophesy.  Not that I won’t feel pain if I concentrate on not feeling it, but I think you can definitely make things worse in your mind.  If any of that makes sense.  I’ve made a list of Friends episodes that I want to watch in the hospital during labor for distraction.  Ones that have to do with labor and delivery, or are focused on pregnancy.  I’ll also have my husband and hopefully my sister for distraction and for helping coach me and keep me as relaxed as possible.  My sister plans on being there, but she has college classes and 2 jobs, and doesn’t feel like her managers are going to be very understanding of the fact that her sister is in labor and she’s the labor coach.  So I guess we’ll see how that goes.  I hope the timing works out because I really want her to be there.

The carseat is ready in my car, along with some hospital bags.  We have a small bag for ‘during labor’ that contains some sugar free candies for me to suck on when the dry air in the hospital is too much, some comfy clothes for me to be in so I don’t have to be in a hospital gown the whole time, some tennis balls in a sock for my husband to use to massage me, the laptop, etc.  Then we have an ‘after’ bag that has a towel and toiletries for me, some sleep bras, cheap granny panties that I can ruin, some pads and stuff because I heard the hospital ones are about as thick as a pillowtop mattress, and some clean comfy clothes for me so I can feel like myself again, plus a change of clothes for DH.  We also have a cute coming home outfit for the baby of course.

Her room is all ready for her, the decorations are up and everything.  I never got around to painting her dresser, basically because I felt like I was too uncomfortable to be leaning low enough to do it neatly.  So I’ll be doing that at some point once the pregnancy is over.

We also have set things in motion for her baptism.  It’s not so important to DH, but it is to me.  I mean, he’s on board with it and going to church and stuff, but really only for my sake.  But we ended up choosing a church in his hometown, the one his grandmother goes too, and he’s happy to make her happy as well.  We wanted it to be on a specific Saturday in July because we will have some extra family in town for another occasion.  The church was totally fine with it, so we’re all booked for it.  There are more steps between now and then, but we at least have it set up.

So… I’m just sitting here, hoping to go into labor any minute.  I have felt her drop more, and we confirmed she was lower with our Doppler.  We were able to detect her heartbeat lower than it was at our last appointment.  I’m feeling lots of pressure in my lower abdomen, presumably from those muscles working to hold her.  I’m still throwing up quite often, so I’m really hoping to get this done sooner rather than later so I can be finished with that as soon as possible.  I’m quite tired all the time, and am up about every 2 hours in the night to pee.

A few people have predicted tomorrow as the day, I can’t help hoping they’re right.  We’ll see what happens, but hopefully my next post is to tell you she’s here!

10 thoughts on “The one where I’m 39 weeks

  1. So excited for you! You will do great and can’t wait to hear all about her birth story! Relax these next few days and try and get in as MUCH sleep as you can! Enjoy it!

    Ps: my fav Friends episode is the one with the videotape (season 8 episode 4) 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good one. It’s not on my list because even though it explains HOW she got pregnant, it doesn’t really involve it in any other way. I love at the end when they watch it and are like happy with it, but then all of a sudden are like no…no… make it stop. Hahahah

      I’m trying to relax but then I think I should be bouncing around to try to get her to come out… we’ll see which line of thinking wins out. Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shh, everything’s gonna be all right.

    What do you know? No one’s going up to you and saying, “Hi. Is that your nostril? Mind if we push this pot roast through it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

