The one with the IVF Survival Kits

img_0240

Yesterday DH and I both took the afternoon off work and drove an hour and a half to go to happy hour at Tia’s.  I thoroughly enjoyed four (yes FOUR, don’t judge me) fabulous mojitos.  We also had delicious New England clam chowder, coconut shrimp, and lobster and goat cheese flatbread.  We had such a fun time.  We also stopped in the neighboring town at a bakery we love and got some fancy decadent desserts to treat ourselves after injections that night.

When we got home, we exchanged our IVF survival kits.  Here’s mine: img_0259

DH got me some candy (the giant charleston chews that you can see in the back, and under everything is a bag of york peppermint patties and a bag of kisses), a couple movies, some good brownie mix (for when I really need the gooey chocolate), a t-shirt with an anchor print on it to match my bracelet, a little jewelry holder that is part elephant (sign of maternity and good luck), and a pretty new whale mug to have a cup of tea when I’m stressed.

img_0260

Here’s DH’s:

img_0258

I got him some of his favorite candy (which is buried under), some lifesavers (because he’s my lifesaver and I couldn’t do it without him), some Hubba Bubba Bubble gum (because… hubba hubba haha), snickers (to remind him to laugh through this process), a movie (for when we need to curl up with a good distraction), some good brand cream soda (DH doesn’t really drink… the tag on it said most guys would want a beer to kick back with during all this!), a gift card to Buffalo Wild Wings for him to go out with his friends (tag: for when you need a break from my crazy hormones!), a couple pairs of nice boxers with shamrocks and stuff (for good luck on our appointment days and when he needs to “make his contribution”), and a shirt (for when he’s giving me injections).

img_0266

img_0271

So, we had the Gonal-F out of the fridge while we were exchanging these, so it could come to room temp.  I had the instruction video going on my phone again to make sure we were doing it right.  I was so nervous.  But we picked a spot, he stuck it in (which I barely felt, it’s a small needle for this one), and pressed the plunger slowly and held for 5 seconds like it said to.  He was steady and I really didn’t feel anything.  This first one at least, was extremely anti-climactic.  He was teasing me later when we couldn’t even see where we had done it.  And more so this morning because it seriously is a tiny red pinprick.  I have to search to find it.  I’ve been directed to take this same dose last night, tonight, and Sunday night and then come back for blood and an US again on Monday morning.  I’ll receive more instructions Monday afternoon.

That’s all I’ve got, but I do want to touch upon Mother’s Day quickly.  I know it can be a very difficult day for us, we all handle it differently.  I think it’s a personality thing as well as where you are in your journey of infertility.  But consider this.  Mothers love their children through everything.  Through every joy and heartache.  They sacrifice for them.  Their time, their bodies, their sanity.  We’re all doing that right now.  Whether you’ve gotten pregnant but miscarried, or if you’ve not yet had a pregnancy, or if you’re using a surrogate.  So even if we don’t have our babies here with us yet, this day is for us too.  What we are going through, and have been through, counts for something.  It counts.  You count.  So happy Mother’s Day.  Sending support to all my friends in Blog Land this Mother’s Day. Xoxo

7 thoughts on “The one with the IVF Survival Kits

  1. I love the survival kits you exchanged! What a great idea! Great job with your first injection. They definitely get easier as you go. We hope the rest of your cycle goes great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

