The Plan.

I always thought I’d meet someone, get married, make some babies, and live happily ever after.  It’s not like I thought it was truly that simple, but like (I think) most of us with an infertility diagnosis, I never thought it would be so complicated.

 

When DH and I got married in September of 2012, literally while we were on our way to the airport for our honeymoon, my sister started polling our friends and family on facebook.  How long before I was pregnant?  The farthest out anyone bet was June of 2013.  We were still actively preventing for awhile.  We were in a condo, money was tight, etc etc.  All the normal reasons.  We were planning on buying a house and thought we’d do things in order.  House buying kept getting pushed back little by little when things would happen to our condo that needed major fixing.  And once we sold, we were planning on staying with family for up to a year to save and then buy a house.  I didn’t feel like ‘trying’ or being pregnant while we were staying in our families’ homes.  We did do that, but ended up buying earlier than intended.  That was October of 2014.  I stopped taking birth control immediately, but we prevented with condoms for a bit.  We wanted to let my cycle re-set itself, so to speak, and also, I had just gotten Aflac and they would only cover maternity leave if you’d had the coverage for at least 10 months.  So we planned.  You know what they say about plans.

godlaugh

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Plan.

  1. Sorry, I’m a jerk 🙂 Although, I don’t think you took it that way at the time. Obviously, between you and others, I have learned a lot and would NEVER make any announcements like that again. Live and learn (and then get Luvs, apparently).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

